new adventures

In the whirlwind of the past few months, so much has changed. One of my best friends is in her second trimester with a little boy. The other best friend bought a house. Our good friends Kevin and Kelly got engaged, and will be sharing our anniversary! All this change in a very, very short time.

The biggest change for us, though, is that Nate was accepted to Regent College in Vancouver BC. Yep, folks… Canada! In September, we will move to the land of maple leaves and loonies and hockey. With no friends. No contacts. No community to speak of. Just…. us.

I am completely torn between Christmas-morning-type excitement and total devastation. My life seems to be characterized by spontaneous, adventurous choices with more regard for possibility than reality. I guess it’s a sign that I’m growing up that this choice leaves me with more of a taste of fear than anything else. What will become of my current friendships? The families I have come to know and love through teaching? What about the city I have come to love, the community that our church has become? Seattle represents, to me, coming of age and discovery of self, calling, and love. Finally, I am comfortable; finally, it is familiar.

The thrill of newness goes hand-in-hand with the anxiety that the unknown brings. And yet, I am comforted. My best friend will be by my side. When we lack for friends, we will have each other. We will not be alone as we leave all we know and love.

I better go get my passport renewed…

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jim & Sara Caldwell
    Mar 09, 2010 @ 06:07:36

    Katie,
    You will love Vancouver. In fact if I didn’t know better I think you could pass for a Canadian. I am so proud of Nate–he will love Regent and he’ll do very well.
    We’ll be sad to see you go but happy for the adventure.
    Jim & Sara

    Reply

  2. Trackback: beyond blessings « tie me to a kite

Leave a Reply

