It’s not easy in Soprano-land

Every now and then it hits me that I have chosen one of the toughest rows to hoe. So I’m a good singer. So I have a degree in voice. There are a million of us out there… what makes me special?

I think I keep expecting someone to tell me where to go, who to sing for, which arias to learn, where to get a masters, who to study with; in short, exactly how to live my life and succeed as a singer. But no one has the answers, because everyone gets there in a totally different way. What works for one person might not get the next person anywhere at all.

So what does a girl do when the thing that makes her feel the most alive is singing? Especially this girl: I’m ambitious. I’m competitive. I don’t like being second best. But I’m not willing to give up my entire life and every relationship I’ve ever had to get to the top.

My teacher asked me the other day to envision where I want to be in ten years. Not just in singing, but in life in general. It’s hard for me to draw up this image; the things I want are seemingly incompatible. I hope mommy in ten years. I want to be a loving and dedicated wife. I want to be making a difference in people’s lives, and serving God with my whole heart. AND, I want to be singing, and singing well, not feeling like I wasted the years I had studying and preparing my voice. How does it all fit?

I feel like it’s hopeless to try to make it all work together. Like packing for a month in a weekend-size bag. Is it that I want too much? Or that my bag’s not big enough?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chrissie
    Mar 26, 2010 @ 22:53:57

    Thank you for sharing Katie. I hear your struggle. I think that the blessing of the changing seasons in our lives has a part to play in figuring out what you need in that bag of yours. I think the hard part is giving yourself grace to live in the present and pack only what you need for today.

    Reply

  2. Anonymous
    Apr 01, 2010 @ 04:45:30

    Hey Katie! It’s been a long while since we’ve been in touch, but I’d love to talk with you about doing the mommy thing as well as the vocational things you love…I’m learning how right now, and while challenging, I have to say its awesome 🙂

    Find me on FB if you’re up for catching up sometime!

    Emily Allen

    Reply

Leave a Reply

