eleven weeks

I counted today. It’s now a mere eleven weeks until we pack our meticulously-labeled-Canadian-customs-worthy boxes into a rented truck and leave the country. How strange that I can actually say that. For three whole years, God willing, I’ll be living in a country other than the one I’ve spent my entire life in thus far. (I know it’s only Canada… but still, it’s Canada.)

Eleven weeks doesn’t seem like many when I take into account all I need to do before we leave. We need to find an apartment, we need to apply for visas, I need to have an immigration medical exam. We need to make a list of our belongings, label and pack boxes, and find the truck in which they will make the magical journey northward.

Yet, faced with this real deadline, and possibly the last bit of time I may be living in Seattle ever again (I’ve learned not to count on anything, especially geography), there are so many things I want to do. Things that represent the six years I’ve spent in Seattle, and things that I’ve been wanting to do forever. I’ve decided to throw caution and preparation to the wind and make these my absolute priority this summer. Without further ado, my list:

walk greenlake as many times as possible

barbecue at golden gardens and alki

run discovery park and play on the beach

watch the sunset as many nights as I can

eat at Salumi (never have!)

bicycle across the 1-90 bridge

do a Seattle Underground tour

have a party in our new (soon to be old) apartment

climb the haystack on mt. si

Matador margaritas and nachos on the sidewalk

go to Olympic sculpture park

get coffee from Zoka, Ladro, Fiore, Muse, and my other favorites one more time (at least)

order gnocchi from Bizzaro

ballard Sunday market

and, of course, I want to do these things with the people I love… so holler if you see something you want to do with me! Here’s to redeeming the time that’s left.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Margaret Baxter
    Jun 15, 2010 @ 14:29:10

    I see several!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

