i’m on a roll

This is one of my favorite songs right now, from my favorite band, Over the Rhine:

And, it totally describes my running habit lately. I ran 16.2 miles this week! All four runs were in the morning, which is unusual for me. But I’m getting to the point that I so look forward to the next time I get to lace up and head out that I want to do it first thing in the morning. I think I’m obsessed!

Also, twice in the past few days I’ve gone for a run and been disappointed in what seemed like a really slow time, only to find out I had actually gone farther than I expected! What a great feeling. For instance: today I repeated my long run from last week, which I thought to be about 5 miles. When I finished and saw my time, I was shocked. I know I’m slow, but I’m not that slow! But I got home and re-mapped the route online, and realized I had cut out a whole section of the run when I mapped it last week! I had actually run 6.2 miles, and not much slower than my 5k pace. Ohhhhhh yeah. Am I actually becoming a real runner?!

We have to wait and figure out the logistics a bit before I register, but I have every intention of running the Seattle Half Marathon in November. I’ve found what seems like a good 9-week training plan here and I’m working my way up to the first week right now. I’m more excited for this than I’ve ever been for a mountain or even last year’s triathlon! It’s amazing what I can actually accomplish when I set a goal. Without a goal, I’m totally aimless. I think I’m going to write some goals for other areas of my life, too, and see what happens.

I’m still a bit frustrated, though, because my weight has gone slightly up… which is exactly the opposite of what I’m trying to do. I’ve been really good about calories, but not so good about sweets and alcohol. So this week I’m cutting back, and hopefully that does the trick!

Where are you on a roll to?

Leave a Reply

