30 things

I’ve been inspired lately by a few other bloggers’ lists. They have taken different forms and sizes, but all have something in common: goals and dreams. Since I’ve been thinking so much about goals lately, and having decent success with one in particular, I decided to take on this task. So, here we go:

30 things I want to do before I turn 30

1. finish a half marathon 11.21.10 in 2:14:13

2. audition for a real opera company

3. plant a garden

4. keep a garden alive long enough to harvest it

5. make new friends

6. keep the old

7. commute entirely by bike and public transit

8. read my Bible more

9. Develop a Rule of Life and stick with it

10. perfect my aria package

11. compete in the Metropolitan Opera Council Auditions and NATS Artist Award

12. have a baby

13. continue learning how to be a good wife to Nate

14. see the Aurora Borealis

15. hike part of the Pacific Crest Trail

16. ride the STP (Seattle-to-Portland)

17. start a music school (or at least write the business plan)

18. star in a local opera

19. raise a puppy

20. become a local-ivore

21. become more politically aware and active

22. cook my way through a classic cookbook- Julia Childs or Mark Bittman?

23. see NYC

24. attend a professional conference for teaching voice or Kindermusik

25. start a neighborhood gathering or community dinner in our home

26. become a better piano and guitar player

27. write songs and play gigs

28. discover how to live more simply

29. learn to live in the moment

30. write more letters and cards

We’ll see how it goes! 5 years and a few months. Can I do it?

P.S. I know you’re reading this… but I don’t know who you are! Leave me a comment, ’cause I want to hear about you, too! What’s on your list?

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. signorinabea
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 00:48:49

    Wow that’s quite an ambitious list. I’ve discovered that if you set goals for yourself, you’re more likely to achieve them, so good luck! šŸ™‚

    Reply

  2. marriagecoach1
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 00:57:59

    I have faith that you can do it. I set goals for myself from the time that I was 17 and surfed in a huricane. It boosted my self esteem through the roof. I followed it up by going on a summer long cross country motorcycle trip by myself. Go for it, Your only regret will not be triying hard to achieve your goals.

    Blessings on you and yours
    John Wilder

    Reply

  3. amanda
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 01:49:35

    hello my dear! i admit i’ve been lurking. šŸ™‚ Great list!!

    my variation on this list is here: http://bit.ly/cAPSKu

    Reply

  4. katieannecollins
    Aug 19, 2010 @ 22:04:34

    @ Amanda- thanks for stopping by! I’ll add your blog to my list. I love your 1001 things… and you’re doing great at accomplishing them, it looks like! xoxo KC

    Reply

  5. Trackback: the great balancing act « tie me to a kite
  6. Trackback: three things « tie me to a kite
  7. Kristi
    Nov 30, 2010 @ 15:48:22

    Hi Katie – I love your list. I’m already 30, but you have me thinking about what might be on my list… šŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

