the 13.1 milestone

It’s about time for a running post.

I’m only ten days away from running my first (only?) half-marathon, and I couldn’t be more excited. I’ve been working very hard, at the expense of what often feels like my only free time (yes, much more running than blogging has been going on here), and running has NEVER felt this easy to me. My running pal and I did 9.3 miles on Saturday afternoon at a pace that used to be a realistic goal for 3 miles. It seems like forever ago that once around Greenlake seemed like enough for a week. My body feels great, I’m continuing to lose weight, my legs are stronger than they ever have been, and I’m not worried in the slightest about running 13.1 miles next Sunday.

Besides all this, though, I’m still riding high from one of the best compliments I’ve ever received. My running buddies commented today that they have been really impressed by my organization, discipline and motivation. Did you catch that?!?! Anyone who’s known me for long knows that my spontaneity, while making for a fun (okay, sometimes annoying) personality trait, doesn’t exactly set me up well for habits, discipline, and order. It’s something I’ve known and combated for a long time. I am technically on the ADHD scale– whatever that means anymore– but never went the prescription route. I decided that I would embrace my issues and deal with them by creating structure and order in my life, the way it works for me. I think some things, like a daily quiet time and practice habits, will always be hard, but apparently, my efforts are starting to pay off.

Finally, here’s something that is actually sticking. Want proof? The hip injury that took me out of my training for 10+ days didn’t make me lose my steam. I rested and went to physical therapy and rejoiced when I was pronounced better because I couldn’t wait to get back out on the road. If that’s not stick-to-it-iveness,  I don’t know what is.

So when I cross the finish line on November 21st– oh, and I will– I’m going to celebrate, but I want to view it as a stepping stone, not a milestone. My longest run yet, but just another run. Because the following week, I’m going to run three times. Or maybe four. Or maybe I’ll give myself a break and only go for two. The point is: this is a habit I want to keep for life, whether or not I’m currently entered in a race. And maybe, just maybe, the discipline I’ve found in putting on my running shoes and stepping out rain or shine, will start to seep into other areas of my life.

front and center on our fridge... the pink means I DID IT!

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Christine
    Nov 12, 2010 @ 06:21:37

    That is so exciting to hear how your running is going! I’ve been starting to run more myself, and to hear how you’ve worked up to a half marathon is quite inspirational. I look forward to hearing how the race goes.

    Reply

  2. Chrissie
    Nov 12, 2010 @ 15:48:51

    Good for you! That truly is inspiring for someone like me who would love to be a runner but hates to run. I guess it’s about putting your shoes on a going for it – like you have done. I am so happy you get to celebrate your hard work in just over a week as you cross that finish line. And isn’t it funny that other can be encouraged by qualities we see in ourselves as “things to work on”? God works in and through us all the time in ways that are clear to us and also ways we have no idea about!!

    Happy running and hoping for a sunny day for the race.
    C x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

