the great balancing act

Three months ago, I wrote a list of 30 things I want to do before I turn 30. I really like the list I came up with, and I was feeling very optimistic about my prospects of meeting these goals, but optimism alone isn’t enough to get me there. Item number one, ‘run a half marathon’, is imminent at this point; but it’s taken a LOT of work to get there. A lot of work, plus some organization, plus some accountability. It seems to me that if I’m to succeed at the rest of my list, I need to take some cues from how this whole running thing has worked for me.

It’s easy in this life to lose our balance somewhere between the day-to-day activities and what we really want to be doing. Saturday morning rolls around, and the laundry, errands, or leftover work squeak squeak their way toward the front of the line, and the practicing, working out, writing or calls to friends get put off again. I’ve been letting things slide for far too long and not regularly acting on any of the things I say are the priorities in my life. Laundry is definitely NOT a priority!

So here’s what I’m going to do. I’m picking three items from my list. They will be different enough to keep the spice of life abundant, attainable enough to keep me from giving up, and interesting enough to not bore you to tears. Then, I’m going to give myself a specific deadline for each, and make a plan. Finally (this is where you come in) I will be writing about my progress, struggles and victories right here. Accountability is key! And what’s more public than my very own bloggy blog?

Here I go to choose 3 things from my list! Anyone have ideas? Expect my plan by Saturday! Oh, and on Sunday, I WILL check off the first item! Wooohoooo!!! Wish me luck!

Does anyone want to join me on my goal-getting challenge? Let’s do this!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Katie Bryant
    Nov 19, 2010 @ 00:20:56

    Katie, I am so inspired! Last year I dedicated myself to write down something positive everyday and I am almost done! 30 before 30 is a great idea. I am writing my list tonight and will be tracking with your progress 🙂 good luck with your halfer!!!

    Katie Bryant

    Reply

  2. Jaclyn Rae
    Nov 19, 2010 @ 01:09:25

    I have the same list! I hope you reach all of your goals 🙂

    Reply

  3. Suzanne
    Nov 19, 2010 @ 05:06:12

    I’m almost done with my list of blogging prompts I’ve been working on, but then I think I’ll make a 30 before 30 list. Thanks for the idea!

    Reply

  4. katieannecollins
    Nov 19, 2010 @ 18:00:49

    @Katie- do it! I’d love to see your list!! And thank you!
    @Jaclyn- I hope you do too! Are any of ours the same?
    @Suzanne- your prompts have been awesome! I want to see your list when you’re done!

    Reply

  5. Trackback: three things « tie me to a kite

Leave a Reply

